Spirit of the Pioneer

BHS Student Newspaper 2008-09

Posts Tagged ‘Blue Ribbon Schools’

Principal Proud of Blue Ribbon Honors

Posted by bhspioneerspirit on October 9, 2008

By Halli Taylor

As a part of the No Child Left Behind program, the Blue Ribbon Award honors both public and private elementary, middle, and high schools that are excelling in academics, or show marked endurance in students and faculty members on high levels. 


After being nominated by the Arkansas Director of education Dr. Ken James, a past Superintendent of Batesville High School, and going through a vigorous application process, Batesville High is the only high school in the state of Arkansas to be awarded the Blue Ribbon..


Principal David Campbell expressed his appreciation to Mrs. Debbie Miller, Mrs. Dories Butler, Mr. Sparks, and Mrs. Lisa Huff for their assistance with the application process. 


“This is like winning the Academic National Championship.  Receiving the Blue Ribbon Award, number one, tells us that we’re a high performing high school.  It also says that we have a very dedicated staff,” commented Mr. Campbell. 


Only schools with students performing in the top 10% of both reading and math scores are considered high performing schools. 


“I want to educate our kids and the community about what it means to get the Blue Ribbon Award,” stated Mr. Campbell.


Each school that was a recipient in the U.S. will be honored in a ceremony in Washington D.C. on October 21, 2008.  Mr. Campbell, along with Mr. Qualls, Mrs. Summers, Mrs. Weygandt, and Mr. Russell, will leave on the October 19 to be present to accept the award.  


Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged: | Leave a Comment »

Another Blue Ribbon for BHS!

Posted by bhspioneerspirit on September 15, 2008

By Superintendent Ted Hall

Congratulations to the Batesville High School and entire district for the outstanding award of a Blue Ribbon High School. 


Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools that are either academically superior or that demonstrate gains in student achievement to high levels.  In addition to being honored at a ceremony in Washington , DC , these schools serve as models for other schools throughout the nation. 


For Arkansas public schools, Dr. James nominates schools for the Blue Ribbon award.  Schools that are in the top 10% of schools in their state in both reading and math are considered high performing schools.  To be eligible, schools must make AYP for the previous two years as well as the year nominated. 


Only three schools in Arkansas were awarded Blue Ribbon status this year.  Batesville High School is the only high school in the state to receive the award.  This award is a direct result of the hard work of preschool – 12th teachers and students.  Students who are provided a rigorous level of study starting in the preschool and elementary schools have the conceptional knowledge to work at rigorous levels in the junior high and high school levels. 


Good work, folks.  Your time and dedication to our students continues to pay off in many ways.  Thank you from the board, central office administration, and principals.  It is an honor to work with you each and every day.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged: | Leave a Comment »