Spirit of the Pioneer

BHS Student Newspaper 2008-09

BHS Faculty Select 2008-09 Mr. and Miss Pioneer

Posted by bhspioneerspirit on May 7, 2009

Krystal Pham
Every year the teaching staff selects two seniors who have outstanding qualities. This high honor was awarded to Jon-Michael Poff and Summer George.

 “This is one of the biggest honors I have ever received. It affirms my character,” commented Jon- Michael.

Mr. and Miss Pioneer is an admirable title that these students will carry with them for years to come. “I try very hard to always be respectful to my teachers and to be a hard-working student. I always hope that I can act like a Miss Pioneer for the rest of my life,” stated Summer.

Inner pride and self-accomplishment are a couple of the positive attributes of this honor. Jon Michael quoted from The Awakening by Kate Chopin, “It’s not a crown you wear, but an internal spirit of pride in character that you assume like a garment each day.”

Miss Pioneer embraced this title as an acknowledgement that she has been a good student. Summer commented, “I feel like it means that I’m doing a good job in high school.”

These studious students have been unconsciously working towards this honor for quite some time. Jon Michael stated, “I think that Mr. and Miss Pioneer honor those who strive to be the best at whatever they do – I have certainly given my all. Hard work does pay off!”

Leave a Reply

 
