Spirit of the Pioneer

BHS Student Newspaper 2008-09

Students Show Their Skill in Art Class

Posted by bhspioneerspirit on May 7, 2009

By Linh Tran
Art class at BHS has always been a favorite for many students. As shown, these students show serious dedication in their work.

Part of art is to be creative.

“Without creativity, life would be boring,” commented Colton Gregory, a junior in Art I class.

Creativity serves more than just one purpose to make things different.

“You learn more with creativity and you see things in a different perspective too,” added Drew Davidson, a senior in Art II.

Inspiration comes in many shapes and sizes and plays a key factor in art.

“I get my inspiration from the music I listen to,” noted Lily Allder, a junior in Art II.

Another Junior feels strongly about inspiration too.

“My inspiration comes from my everyday life, environment, and hobbies and habits,” commented Shelby Butler, a junior in Art I.

Whether students are in Art I or II, each one finds different comfort in art class.

“Stroking my paintbrush across a canvas gives me a feeling of serenity,” mentioned Allder.

Many find a different reason to be in art class.

“I look forward to art class, and I love Mrs. Sturdivant too,” added Baylee Mathews, a sophomore in Art I.

Art may seem difficult for those who have not taken it yet, but most who are taking it have found that art isn’t so hard after all.

“Before I took art, I could not even draw a straight line, let alone a stick figure. Now though, Mrs. Sturdivant has taught me a lot more about the basics of art and I can draw almost anything I want,” commented Tanya Tye, a junior in Art I.

“Before art I had no artistic ability whatsoever, now that I’m in art, I realize art is everywhere, and I have learned to appreciate it,” added Krystal Pham, a junior in Art I.

Although many of these art students will not major in art, most of them will carry on what they have learned in high school art class with them for the rest of their lives.

Leave a Reply

 
